Vegans and Yogurt: Can Vegans Eat Yogurt

Vegans adhere to a stern animal-friendly diet, which emphasizes on keeping all animal products out. Apart from meat, vegans also steer clear of items like eggs, butter, yogurt, cheese and milk. Vegans eliminate all foods that originate from animals or animal by-products and instead take plant-based foods like vegetables, fruits, beans, nuts and whole grains.

This leads to a common question that most people ask concerning the diet of a vegan: can vegans eat yogurt?

Vegans do not eat dairy yogurt as it is made from animal products. However, there are a number of alternatives that a vegan can take in place of dairy yogurt. These alternatives contain active bacterial cultures that are similar to the dairy-based yogurts thus benefiting digestion.

Below are some of the yogurt alternatives that vegans can take.

Soy Yogurt

Soy yogurt forms the most common vegan yogurt. According to the author of “Conveniently Vegan”, Debra Wasserman, soy yogurt resembles the dairy-based type of yogurt in terms of consistency and flavor. It is made from soy milk and active culture. This type of yogurt is readily available in grocery stores, but a high number of people also make it at home. The process of making soy yogurt is similar to making cow milk yogurt.

Rice Yogurt

Rice yogurt is the other alternative that vegans can take in place of dairy-based yogurt. It is made from liquid rice protein and contains the same active cultures that dairy and soy yogurts contain. It is a great option for persons who have soy allergies. This type of yogurt has a mild flavor that is almost similar to that of a dairy-based yogurt but it is considerably thinner.

Coconut Milk Yogurt

Coconut milk yogurt is rich and creamy and its flavor is slightly tropical, which most people find to be pleasant. It contains an active culture most of the time, but not always. If you prefer the variety with an active culture, you should check the label well when purchasing it. You can also make yours at home using canned coconut milk and a vegan starter culture. This yogurt works well with a number of recipes due to its rich and creamy qualities.

Arrowroot Yogurt

Another great yogurt alternative for vegans is the arrowroot yogurt that is made from thick fruit puree, probiotics and ground arrowroot. It is an ideal option for people struggling with allergies as it contains no common triggers like wheat gluten. Although probiotic bacterial cultures are good for digestion they are not capable of producing yogurt with the same texture as rice, dairy yogurt or soy.  If you want the probiotic benefits of yogurt but like the original texture, stick with the rice or soy types and then supplement with a probiotic for vegans (of course!) – you’ll be able to get the best of both worlds.

Final Words

A lot of answers have been put forward in an attempt to answer the question: can vegans eat yogurt? Vegans can eat yogurt that is free from dairy products and this is the reason why there are so many alternatives to it. Vegans do not have an issue taking active bacterial cultures as they do not consider bacteria as animals and cannot do without the benefits these organisms offer in the digestion process. Finally, it is safe to say that vegans can indeed take yogurt as long as it is not dairy-based.

 

rachelsyogurt

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *